Stephenstown pond is a unique nature park with water walkways, woodlands, and a wide array of wildlife. It is an ideal family day out where you can enjoy a picnic, feed the ducks or sample some of the home bakery at the Dairy Maid cafe.
The pond was commissioned in 1817 by the land owner Matthew Fortescue. It was built by william Galt. William Galt was married to Agnes Burns, sister of the Scottish Poet, Robert Burns. Their cottage is part of the park.
In 1995 the disused Stephenstown pond was developed in to the nature park that it is today, it officially opened in July 1996 with a crowd of over 1,300 people present.
Then in 2000 a visitor centre was built and Burns Cottage was renovated. (It is now the Dairy Maid Cafe)
Finally in 2007 the enterprise and conference centres were completed with the help of various funding agencies who were extremely supportive from the outset.
Altogether, our facilities include:
- A conference Centre that seats 120 people
- 80000 sq foot of community enterprise space
- Meeting rooms
- Catering facilities, on site for all the above
- The Dairy Maid Coffee Shop located to 19th century Burns Cottage
- Arrangements made for group tours and school educational trips
- Pond fishing permits available from reception.
- Large secure car park available on site
- Children's Playground
Our opening hours are:
May - September 08.30-20.30
October - April 09.00 - 17.00
€3.00 Per Car